Home > Laity > Lexicon Project > Administrative Units


Wherever you go

Rule of Life of the Marist Brothers



Social networking

Marist Brothers

RSS YouTube FaceBook Twitter


Today's picture

Australia: Australian Catholic Youth Festival - Perth

Marist Brothers - Archive of pictures

Archive of pictures


Latest updates


Calls of the XXII General Chapter


Archive of updates


Marist Calendar

9 December

Saint Juan Diego
1879, death of Br. Louis-Marie, second Superior General of the Marist Brothers

Marist Calendar - December

Lexicon Project


Lexicon Project

Download WORD: English Español Français Português

Administrative Units

In the Marist Institute, administrative units are called Provinces or Districts. “In addition to its function as a structure of government, an administrative unit constitutes a broad community of life, of prayer, and of apostolic work. It brings the presence of the Institute into local Churches, and remains united to the Brother Superior General who links it to the universal Church”1.

There were 44 Marist Provinces in the world until 1993. Due to the process of restructuring the administrative units, approved by the 19th General Chapter, several Provinces were united. At this time, the Marist Institute has 23 Provinces and six Districts.2.

In the Marist Institute we call an administrative unit a Province, consisting of a group of houses (which may be: religious communities of Brothers, schools, social work, colleges, hospitals, administrative offices and others) with staff and financial resources consistent with the needs, ensuring their autonomy and sustainability. The Brother Provincial is appointed for three years by the Brother Superior General and his Council, after consultation with all the Brothers of the Province3. Each province seeks to ensure, in addition to the minimum management and structural conditions, the spirit of community life, prayer and apostolate. It is the Institute itself which is present in the local church.

It is an administrative unit comprising a group of houses bound by common interests, but not having the requirements necessary to become a Province. It depends directly on the Superior General or on the Provincial Superior, and is governed by a District Superior. It is usually connected to a Province4.

The Marist Institute organizes its Provinces and Districts in regions and each region corresponds to a continent, except in the Americas. Currently,5 there is the Region of Africa, of Asia, of Europe and of Oceania. The Americas are divided in three Regions: Arco Norte, Brasil and Cono Sur, although, for the Americas there is only one Conference for provincials and commissions, which is unified for the three Regions. The administrative units in each region can propose joint actions in order to adapt and respond appropriately to the guidelines of the Institute, taking into account the cultural realities of the region.

1 Cf. Const. 128.

2 In 2015, there is the perspective of the possibility of integrating some of the Districts in the Provinces to which they belong

3 Cf. Const. 144.

4 Cf. Const. 127.

5 Reference of March 2015.


Send your comment

  • There are no comments

Download WORD: English Español Français Português | 4993 visits